some CD's, DVD's (on and others)



6. 1991 - "Practical Music Making I" Print
(82-85) MELODIYA C90 31679 005

• "Keyboard", July 1991: "Mikhail Chekalin: M'Ars 12 LP Albums Series"

• "New Gibraltar Encyclopedia of Progressive Rock", 11/18/07: "12 LP Albums Series"

  • Free Suite of Separate Compositions, Genre Pices and Excerpts (New Music for Keyboards 1981 - 1985)  

SIDE ONE - 24:48

  1. Piano Excerpt 
  2. Simple Theme in Jazz-Rock Style 
  3. Overture for Choir With Drums
  4. Jazz Context
  5. Jazz-Rock Vocalise or "Temptation"

SIDE TWO - 23:52

  1. Russian Tale - Symphonic Miniature
  2. Hommage to Swing
  3. "Sitar"
  4. Rock-monologue
  5. Continuation in March
  6. Vocalise-monologue
  7. Excerpt of Simple Music
  8. Music Up the Curtain

© 1991 M.Chekalin

(P) 1991 MELODIYA C90 31679 005

M'Ars - the Gallery of Modern Art. The series of electronic music in 12 LP Albums. All music composed and performed by Mikhail Chekalin, Moscow, Russia. Selected recordings of 1981 - 1989 from the author's record library. Album 4.

Mikhail Chekalin - keyboards (Yamaha DX7), 8-track tape recorder, grand piano, electric organ, drums (TR-909), vocal, mixing, etc. All music was performed live without sequencer equipment and without participation of other musicians. Produced by Mikhail Chekalin. On the front cover: E.Polivanov "Reservation". Recording engineer I.Zamaraev. Editor: N.Katzman. Cover design by S.Dorokhin. Photo by D.Chekalin.

This album (and partially Album 6) features the pieces, which were recorded before 1984 and besides their artistic sides have an essential documentary meaning, laying claim to being unique. In fact is that these recordings for the first time in our country (not being late in comparison with foreign analogues in 1983 - 1984) present, fix in electronic music and in the musical culture in the whole a new era, a new context of philharmonic (acoustic-ensemble-many-genre sounding), transferred to the synthesizer-keyboard and above all - a new type of the author's musical thinking, new character of creative work and psychology of the composer-performer-improviser-multiinstrumentalist under conditions of key synthesizing method. All the music performed on this disc is original. It does not exist in any other performances and in notes. It is an absolute phonogram. It is the thing in itself and only you and me have it in the form of this LP.


< Prev   Next >
More Info